Coastal on Facebook  Coastal on LinkedIN  Coastal on Twitter  Coastal on You Tube

Diabetes Classes

en Español   |   em Português

Coastal Medical offers a series of classes for Coastal patients that provide information and support for those living with diabetes. Patients can attend all four sessions at one location or can attend sessions at multiple locations depending on the patient's schedule and geographical preference.
   
      View Fall Session Options 
      View Winter Session Options 

Classes

Session 1: Diabetes Basics
Learn about the causes of diabetes and the symptoms of high or low blood sugars. Understand how diabetes affects your body and discuss strategies for preventing complications.

Session 2: Diabetes Self-Management
Review the self-monitoring of blood sugar and your diabetes action plan.  Learn how the use of a blood sugar meter and how exercise or illness may affect your readings.

Session 3: Diabetes and Nutrition
Learn how foods can affect your blood sugar level, how to read nutrition labels and what foods are best to keep blood sugars under control.  Learn how to develop your own healthy meal plan.

Session 4: Diabetes and Medications
Learn how diabetes medications work in your body and how to take them properly.

Coastal patients are invited to attend any class that best fits their schedule and geographical preference.


Fall Diabetes Session Registration 2017

Cranston

Coastal Medical Garden City, 75 Sockanossett Cross Rd., Suite 100, Cranston, RI 02920
Session 1: 
Thursday, September 28, 6:00pm – 7:30pm
Session 2:  Thursday, October 5, 6:00pm – 7:30pm
Session 3:  Thursday, October 12, 6:00pm – 7:30pm
Session 4:  Thursday, October 19, 6:00pm – 7:30pm

Register for Coastal Garden City Sessions

Download flyer


Greenville

Coastal Medical Greenville, 41 Sanderson Rd Smithfield, RI 02917
Session 1: 
Wednesday, September 27, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 2:  Wednesday, October 11, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 3:  Wednesday, October 25, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 4:  Wednesday, November 8, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Register for Greenville Sessions

Download flyer


Lincoln

Coastal Medical Lincoln, 6 Blackstone  Valley Place, Bldg. 7 Susite 701, Lincoln, RI 02865
Session 1: 
Friday, August 4, 10:00am – 11:30am 
Session 2:  Friday, August 18, 10:00am – 11:30am
Session 3:  Friday, September 1, 10:00am – 11:30am
Session 4:  Friday, September 15, 10:00am – 11:30am

Download flyer

Register for Lincoln Session 2


Newport Area

Coastal Medical Newport, 850 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842
Session 1: 
Friday, September 29, 10:00am - 11:30am
Session 2:  Friday,October 13, 10:00am - 11:30am
Session 3:  Friday, October 27, 10:00am - 11:30am
Session 4:  Friday, Novemeber 10, 10:00am - 11:30am

Register for Newport Sessions

Download flyer


Providence Region

Coastal Medical Warren Ave, 900 Warren Ave
Suite 400 Conference Room, E. Providence, RI 02914

Session 1: 
Tuesday, August 8, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 2:  Tuesday, August 22, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 3:  Tuesday, September 5, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 4:  Tuesday, September 19, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Download flyer

Register for Providence Sessions


Wakefield

Coastal Medical Wakefield, 70 Kenyon Avenue, Suite 215, Wakefield, RI 02879
Session 1: 
Wednesday, August 30, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Session 2:  Wednesday, September 13, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Session 3:  Wednesday, September 27, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Session 4:  Wednesday, October 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Download flyer

Register for Wakefield Sessions


Winter Diabetes Session Registration 2017

Providence Region

Coastal Medical Warren Ave, 900 Warren Ave,
Suite 400 Conference Room, E. Providence, RI 02914

Session 1: 
Tuesday, October 3, 10:00am - 11:30am
Session 2: Tuesday, October 17, 10:00am - 11:30am
Session 3:  Tuesday, October 31, 10:00am - 11:30am
Session 4:  Tuesday, November 14, 10:00am - 11:30am

Download flyer

Register for Providence Sessions


Pawtucket

Coastal Medical Hillside Family Medicine 727 East Avenue, Pawtucket RI 02860
Session 1: 
Thursday, October 5, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 2:  Thursday, October 19, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 3:  Thursday, November 2, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Session 4:  Thursday, November 16, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Download flyer

Register for Pawtucket Session

 

 

Diabetes Management: A1C Maintenance

Diabetes Management: 9" Plate Method

Diabetes Management: Using a Glucometer